![]() |
|
slave upgraded from win8.1 to 10. Then I lost the slave - Printable Version +- Hack Forums (https://hackforums.net) +-- Forum: Hacks, Exploits, and Various Discussions (https://hackforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=45) +--- Forum: Blackhat • Red Team • Offensive Security (https://hackforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=447) +---- Forum: Remote Administration Tools (https://hackforums.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=114) +---- Thread: slave upgraded from win8.1 to 10. Then I lost the slave (/showthread.php?tid=5181308) |
slave upgraded from win8.1 to 10. Then I lost the slave - unoquepasaba - Feb 23, 2016 Title explains by itself. How is that possible? * - Ar1es - Feb 23, 2016 Because they are still factory resetting there computer or formatting it in some way or another so if thats being said they can be changing a lot so then your infection file has been removed as well sorry bud * - unoquepasaba - Feb 23, 2016 I mean I'm sure about the slave didn't get his computer factory reset. What I see was a screen popup showing that windows was going to update to windows 10 in 60 minutes. * - Armada - Feb 23, 2016 You user upgraded their OS, I would be surprised if the binary remained to be honest. * - unoquepasaba - Feb 23, 2016 (Feb 23, 2016 11:01 AM)Armada Wrote: You user upgraded their OS, I would be surprised if the binary remained to be honest. Could you elaborate? I would apreciate it! * - DingusMonster - Feb 23, 2016 (Feb 23, 2016 11:40 AM)unoquepasaba Wrote: Could you elaborate? I would apreciate it!He most likely chose to overwrite all files. If not then your stub was most likely installed in a system folder or in the registry. * - Armada - Feb 23, 2016 (Feb 23, 2016 11:40 AM)unoquepasaba Wrote: Could you elaborate? I would apreciate it! This really is not brain surgery. The user literally changed the host OS, critical files and processes changed in the process. Upgrades might leave the software alone, but this assumes its legit installed. RATs tend to install as a system service to ensure persistance and startup, services tend to get reset with an OS upgrade. Again, I would be very surprised if it actually survived. |