Home Upgrade Search Memberlist Extras Hacker Tools Award Goals Help Wiki Follow Contact

HF Rulez the UniverseHF Rulez the Universe
Account Profiles and Pruning
Why do you prune data on the site?
We do this to keep our database as efficient as possible. The smaller our database the better the site runs. It's a necessary evil.

Are posts pruned after a certain time?
No, they are not. The only posts that are on occasion pruned are the ones in the Junk section which are removed from member view. However this is not very often and we often have hundreds of thousands of posts in our Junk.

My post count just dramatically fell. What happened?
Most likely we just deleted a lot of threads in Junk and did a post recount. If you noticed your post count drop it's likely you're a post whore. Try to get a life and care less about your stats.

Are PMs pruned?
Yes they are. Our current policy is this:
Regular Members: PMs older than 2 months
L33t Members: PMs older than 6 months
Ub3r Members: PMs older than 1 year

Can I save my PMs before they get pruned?
We don't usually announce prunes of PMs. You can do PM exports on your own at any time via the usercp. Once you export we ask that you prune on your own to help alleviate space.

Where do I empty my PMs?
//hackforums.net/private.php?action=empty

How do I export my PMs?
//hackforums.net/private.php?action=export

Do you prune members?
We do. We delete members that have not activated their accounts fairly often. We also delete 0 post members older than 2 months. So most of our member base is actually posting members.

Do you prune Convos?
We do not prune conversations as a whole. We prune messages in Convos that are older than 6 months. Pruning occurs daily!

How do I export a Convo?
Enter a convo you want to export and an option for exporting is in the upper right corner of the convo window. When you hover over it with a mouse, it says "Export Convo".

Can I export all Convos at once like PMs?
Currently, that is not supported. You can only export one by one.

Can you delete an account so I can get the username?
No, don't even ask. If it's a zero post member you can wait till the account is pruned but don't ask us to delete an individual account for you. Even if it has one post from 2 years ago and they've never returned we will not delete the account just so you can have a username.

My Bytes were deleted, where did they go?
The Bytes for a member are set to 0 if there is one year of account inactivity. They can't be recovered.

What else do you prune?
Well we've covered PMs, posts, Bytes, convo messages and members. There isn't anything else that's not MyBB standard like clearing out the search terms daily or the other things that do not affect your account.

My account is "closed". What happened?
Member accounts that have not been logged into for 6 months or more are subject to being closed. The account will no longer function. We will not recover these accounts. We do this to protect old inactive accounts from being stolen then used inappropriately by someone else. If you wish to rejoin HF you can may do so as long as you were not intentionally banned from HF due to a violation. You will need to use a different username and email.

Can you alter, delete, or prune my username history?
Sorry but no. We do not alter a member's username history. It currently displays the previous 6 months to all users except Admins and Staff who can view the full history of username changes. In the rare case you just accidentally entered your password instead contact Omniscient for removal but also immediately change your password and username.

Can I get my account closed or deleted?
Upon request we can close your account. We will first review the account to ensure you are the original account owner. If we decide to close the account it's permanent and you will not be allowed to return. We do not delete accounts once posts are made. We will not delete an accounts threads, posts, or PMs but over time these might eventually be pruned.