DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS MEMBER
Mar 31, 2017 07:14 PM
(This post was last modified: Mar 31, 2017 07:16 PM by Justvisiting.)
I find it bizarre that unless the feature was done away with altogether for all members, that it has now been excluded for normal members to use.
I tried searching but couldn't find anything about the change.
If the feature can help at least one normal member, isn't it worth making available to all?
Just looked and 1337's do not have the feature either. I don't understand!
Mar 31, 2017 07:29 PM
(This post was last modified: Mar 31, 2017 07:29 PM by Disparity.)
It's an epic/ub3r only thing now.
https://hackforums.net/upgrade.php
Omni posted a thread two weeks ago.
Epic only.
I wonder why as well. Though, people will tell ya it's not good to question Omniscient.
Though, I don't think he's that mean of a person. Doubt he's mean at all. Seems like a nice guy based off the few posts I've read from him.
There are plenty of other features that would be able to 'help at least one normal member' but you're not going to get them for nothing. The features are a luxury not a necessity so upgrade or go without.
DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS MEMBER
(Mar 31, 2017 07:31 PM)SIM-3468354 Wrote: There are plenty of other features that would be able to 'help at least one normal member' but you're not going to get them for nothing. The features are a luxury not a necessity so upgrade or go without.
My point was that it was available to all members at one stage, I'm just trying to understand why it was taken away when taking it away does not but disadvantage those who do not upgrade.
Who does this benefit by taking it away other than potentially a slight increase in upgrade sales (if any).
I'm guessing it was implemented to stop newer accounts from checking their trust scans to ensure they're not showing as a multi.
(Mar 31, 2017 08:10 PM)Justvisiting Wrote: My point was that it was available to all members at one stage, I'm just trying to understand why it was taken away when taking it away does not but disadvantage those who do not upgrade.
Who does this benefit by taking it away other than potentially a slight increase in upgrade sales (if any).
I'm guessing it was implemented to stop newer accounts from checking their trust scans to ensure they're not showing as a multi.
Omni saw that the trust scan wasn't really even stopping regular members from being scammed, as most of them didn't bother to use it before dealing. So now it's 3p1c/ub3r feature only.
Omni has made a thread regarding this change.
DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS MEMBER
Mar 31, 2017 08:16 PM
(This post was last modified: Mar 31, 2017 08:16 PM by Justvisiting.)
(Mar 31, 2017 08:11 PM)rsx Wrote: Omni saw that the trust scan wasn't really even stopping regular members from being scammed, as most of them didn't bother to use it before dealing. So now it's 3p1c/ub3r feature only.
And there's plenty of Uber's/3p1c's as well who do not take the liberty of using it either.
Upgraded members have usually been around here longer, and will generally have more of a knack for site features which is why I would guess they use it more effectively. I'm trying to understand though why all normal members must be penalised for the ignorance of others in using the tool.
(Mar 31, 2017 08:15 PM)test Wrote: Omni has made a thread regarding this change.
link pls
(Mar 31, 2017 08:16 PM)Justvisiting Wrote: And there's plenty of Uber's/3p1c's as well who do not take the liberty of using it either.
Upgraded members have usually been around here longer, and will generally have more of a knack for site features which is why I would guess they use it more effectively. I'm trying to understand though why all normal members must be penalised for the ignorance of others in using the tool.
link pls
You can still make a well informed and safe decision in the marketplace without it. People did so for years before the tool even existed.
It's privileged information and somewhat a matter of convenience.
Just gonna have to deal with it until you upgrade.
Mar 31, 2017 08:44 PM
(This post was last modified: Mar 31, 2017 08:45 PM by Disparity.)
(Mar 31, 2017 08:16 PM)Justvisiting Wrote: And there's plenty of Uber's/3p1c's as well who do not take the liberty of using it either.
Upgraded members have usually been around here longer, and will generally have more of a knack for site features which is why I would guess they use it more effectively. I'm trying to understand though why all normal members must be penalised for the ignorance of others in using the tool.
link pls
What you don't seem to understand is that this site is a business. Omni makes profit through exclusive perks and awards like this. If you're that worried about it just buy epic. No-one makes you use the marketplace, and the site as a whole makes the risks of it very clear.
DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS MEMBER
(Mar 31, 2017 08:44 PM)Disparity Wrote: What you don't seem to understand is that this site is a business. Omni makes profit through exclusive perks and awards like this. If you're that worried about it just buy epic. No-one makes you use the marketplace, and the site as a whole makes the risks of it very clear.
I agree that the site needs to turn a profit, and there are plenty of revenue streams available already to do that. It's as simple as creating a new pixel for someone to donate for at this stage. Why does account security and safer trading have to be another revenue stream to add to the list?
It's omni's decision and his alone. He has his reasons, but even if he had no reason he can do what he wants with his site.
Very simple reason. It was done to encourage you to upgrade.
Quote:I'm guessing it was implemented to stop newer accounts from checking their trust scans to ensure they're not showing as a multi.
And yes, that was a secondary reason.
Quote:Omni saw that the trust scan wasn't really even stopping regular members from being scammed
And a 3rd reason too. I actually need to find better ways to discourage new members from being stupid.
Quote:And there's plenty of Uber's/3p1c's as well who do not take the liberty of using it either.
Actually not true. By the time a member is Ub3r they normally understand the risks of dealing with the Marketplace and take the needed steps to show caution in deals.
Realistically 3P1C is $15. If you're doing business here, which is the only reason why you'd need the Trust Scan, then I don't think it's unreasonable that you upgrade.
|