Dec 4, 2011 09:10 AM
(This post was last modified: Dec 5, 2011 09:20 AM by Silicon.)
Hey there HF. This time I'm popping into the Gfx section to share my method of making a screen recording and turning it into a .GIF file.
Software you will need:
- Photoshop CS3 or above (if you have CS2, I think ImageReady can do this)
- CamStudio (and prior knowledge of how it works)
- Something you want to record
First of all, you need to record a section of your screen and make sure the filesize is preferably under 50MB. To do this, go to Options > Video options and make sure everything looks similar to this:
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/options.png[/img]
Also, go to Options > and tick Do not record audio. These steps will ensure ample quality for a simple GIF recording, and also keep the filesize at a minimum.
The next step is to go to Options > Program Options > Name of .AVI file > tick Ask for file name. This will give us a Save box to specify the location of the file.
Then, Go to Region > and tick Region. (the top one). Then click the big red circular button, draw the rectangle of where you want to record and record it. When you're done press the blue square to stop. When you stop you should be presented with a save box - save it and note the location. It should be saved as an .AVI file. If it isn't go back and check to see if you've done anything wrong.
Now, open up Photoshop (I'm using CS5 for this, it may look slightly different for you if you're not). At the top select Window > Animation. This will bring up the animation pane:
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/anim-pane.png[/img]
Now, open your file. You can add layers and stuff to like you normally would, just make sure to stay clear of the layer with the recording in case you mess something up.
When you're done adding fancy watermarks and stuff, go to File > Save for Web & Devices. If you start getting out of memory errors at this point then your file is too large, go back and lower the recording framerate and try again.
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/export.png[/img]
Have a play around with the options in this pane - just make sure the combobox at the top says GIF. Remember a larger amount of colours means a larger filesize and longer loading times, so use the lowest amount possible that doesn't lower the quality. There's also a play-pause-stop-rewind-ffwd button near the bottom-right that you can use to preview your animation.
Finally click [Save] and save the .gif file. Upload it to somewhere like imgur.com and use it like a normal image file. Well done, you now look professional! :D
(I couldn't make one for this tutorial as it's too long, sorry)
EDIT: Added another picture
Software you will need:
- Photoshop CS3 or above (if you have CS2, I think ImageReady can do this)
- CamStudio (and prior knowledge of how it works)
- Something you want to record
First of all, you need to record a section of your screen and make sure the filesize is preferably under 50MB. To do this, go to Options > Video options and make sure everything looks similar to this:
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/options.png[/img]
Also, go to Options > and tick Do not record audio. These steps will ensure ample quality for a simple GIF recording, and also keep the filesize at a minimum.
The next step is to go to Options > Program Options > Name of .AVI file > tick Ask for file name. This will give us a Save box to specify the location of the file.
Then, Go to Region > and tick Region. (the top one). Then click the big red circular button, draw the rectangle of where you want to record and record it. When you're done press the blue square to stop. When you stop you should be presented with a save box - save it and note the location. It should be saved as an .AVI file. If it isn't go back and check to see if you've done anything wrong.
Now, open up Photoshop (I'm using CS5 for this, it may look slightly different for you if you're not). At the top select Window > Animation. This will bring up the animation pane:
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/anim-pane.png[/img]
Now, open your file. You can add layers and stuff to like you normally would, just make sure to stay clear of the layer with the recording in case you mess something up.
When you're done adding fancy watermarks and stuff, go to File > Save for Web & Devices. If you start getting out of memory errors at this point then your file is too large, go back and lower the recording framerate and try again.
[img]http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17329819/rec-tut/export.png[/img]
Have a play around with the options in this pane - just make sure the combobox at the top says GIF. Remember a larger amount of colours means a larger filesize and longer loading times, so use the lowest amount possible that doesn't lower the quality. There's also a play-pause-stop-rewind-ffwd button near the bottom-right that you can use to preview your animation.
Finally click [Save] and save the .gif file. Upload it to somewhere like imgur.com and use it like a normal image file. Well done, you now look professional! :D
(I couldn't make one for this tutorial as it's too long, sorry)
EDIT: Added another picture
ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ


joshua.avery.scott
