I recently started using an old hard drive as a backup to my laptop. First I used it to create a backup image in case of a crash. The next thing I did was create a VeraCrypt container to backup my personal files, and then add to them as I get new ones. The first time went with no problems. But last night when I opened the VC container to add some new files, I got a message telling me that it's now a "read-only" environment and I won't be able to add anything. It said that I can change it by right-clicking and then click Properties, then Security, and then Edit. I did this, and selected "Full Control" under Users. For some reason, it still doesn't change the settings to allow me to make changes.
What can I do now? I'm thinking of just deleting everything and starting over, but I don't see what would prevent this problem from happening again.
What can I do now? I'm thinking of just deleting everything and starting over, but I don't see what would prevent this problem from happening again.

